Brit Lit Vocabulary

AMNESTY WEEKfrom now until Wednesday, May 10 any late vocabulary may be turned in for 70% of the total points.  Since I’m not interested in busy work, I’ve altered the Vocabulary Square assignment.  This is how you can earn 70% and take out the zero:

  1. Label the top of the lined paper with the lesson # and your name.
  2. Write compound and complex sentences for each of the words.
  3. Turn in to the basket by the end of the day on Wednesday, May 10

New Policy for Vocabulary Squares:  VoSqs are due the DAY of the quiz by 3:30 PM.  Since life happens to all of us, you may turn VoSqs in one day late for less points and THAT’S IT.  The purpose of vocabulary squares is to learn the words!  If you’ve already taken the test, the assignment turns into busy work and fourth quarter is too short.

  • L-16 Quiz on Tuesday, March 21, 2017 – in other words, the first week back from Spring Break!  More about the future:
    • Tuesday, March 28 – Review L-15 and L-16
    • Tuesday, April 4 – Quiz #17
    • Tuesday, April 11 – Quiz #18
    • Tuesday, April 18 – Review L-17 and L-18
    • Tuesday, April 25 – Quiz #19
    • Tuesday, May 2 – Quiz #20
    • Tuesday, May 9 – Review L-19 and L-20 – Last Vocabulary Quiz!
    • Seniors last day Friday, May 19
    • Monday, May 22 Graduation
  • L-15 “loq, sign, scrib” Quiz on Tuesday, February 28, 2017
    • Do you want some extra credit on those Vocabulary Squares?  Write and label each:  2 compound and 2 complex sentences
  • 20 Word Review over L-13 and L-14 (use the links below to review the words) on Tuesday, February 21, 2017
  • L-14 “loc, pos, top, thet” QUIZ on Tuesday, February 14, 2017
    • Do you want some extra credit on those Vocabulary Squares?  Write and label each:  2 compound and 2 complex sentences.
  • L-13 “cap, duc, serv, supQuiz on Wednesday, February 8 – due to short week Parent / Teacher Conferences Weds night and Thursday
  • L-11 and L-12 20 Word Review Quiz on Tuesday, January 31, 2017
  • L-12 “jug, tig, frang, sect” – Quiz on Tuesday, January 24, 2017
    • Do you want to have an extra credit option?
  • L-11 “cura, nec, sol, sal” Quiz on Tuesday, January 17, 2017 Thursday, January 19 (for 3rd Period Friday, January 20) – poetry recitations!
    • Yes!  Extra Credit is available!
    • Write two compound and two comples sentences, label the sentences “cpd” or “cpx” and earn 4 extra credit points.
    • *note that you need to correctly label the sentences cpd or cpx to earn the extra credit points.

FIRST SEMESTER LESSONS 1 – 10

Vocabulary:

  • Vocabulary Squares are due by 3:30PM on the day of the quiz
  • Record the information I provide for word, part of speech, definition, and variation (if provided)
  • Write a sentence and picture on your own
  • Quizzes will be on Tuesdays at the start of class followed by reading time